Email messages that are downloaded from your accounts are always accessible in Zimbra Desktop, even when you are not connected to the internet. Working in Zimbra Desktop when not connected to the internet is called "working offline". When you work offline, Zimbra Desktop cannot access your email accounts, but you can work in Zimbra Desktop as if you were connected to the internet. You can review your messages, create new messages, clean up folders, and make other changes that are synchronized back to your account when you access the internet the next time.
You can tell if you are working offline if the circle next to your name is red.
Please Note: You may be offline before the icon turns red as the network's status updates when Zimbra attempts to sync to the server. If the attempt fails, the icon turns red. If your mailbox sync schedule is infrequent or set to check manually, a visual update of the status (green or red), will not be quickly apparent.
What Can You Do While Working Offline
1. You can read your email messages, move them to folders and tag them for follow up.
2. You can type a reply to a message and send it, forward a message, or create a new message. The messages are saved to the Outbox and when you connect to the internet, they are automatically sent.
3. You can delete messages. They are put into the Trash folder and when you connect to the internet, the messages are moved to the Trash folder. If you emptied your Trash folder, messages are deleted.
4. You can change your Zimbra Desktop options. These options affect how you work within Zimbra Desktop. Changing the options changes your Zimbra Web Client account options (preferences) as well. Changes made in Options for other email accounts affect the Zimbra Desktop settings only. They do not change your account settings.