Any files that were previously backed up but have been removed from a backup set or deleted locally are flagged on our servers as stray files. These files are kept just in case a client has mistakenly excluded or deleted them but still wants to restore them.

You can run a stray file delete to clear all data fitting this description. Please be warned that you may not want to perform a stray file delete if you think that you have accidentally deleted any files locally. Stray files that have been deleted cannot be recovered.

**If you have just excluded files through a backup set, please run the Backup Set momentarily so the file catalog updates. This will ensure that the excluded files are now recognized as stray files**

Additionally, if you are trying to clear all files associated with a given backup set, you must first delete the backup set. Then you can follow the instructions below.




To perform a stray file deletion from the installed software:

  1. Open the eSureIT software

  2. Click the Delete tab at the top of the window.

  3. In the folder manager on the left-hand side, click + next to "Miscellaneous."

  4. Click + next to "Stray Files."

  5. Select the folder or directory that you wish to scan for stray files.

    - We recommend selecting the parent drive or folder from the left pane in the window and its child object you want to scan for stray files in the right pane.
    - If you want to delete all of the files from the C drive, we recommend selecting the C drive on the left to make sure its highlighted and selecting all the folders under C from the right pane. You can select multiple folders by holding down the Control button on your keyboard and clicking with your mouse.

  6. Once the folder has been chosen, select Delete.

  7. Enter the account password and select Yes.


This will initiate the deletion of the selected stray files from our servers.

When the deletion finishes running it should bring you back to the Delete tab which will show your "Storage Used" updated with the new value on the left hand side of the software under "Account Information".