When you install SecureAnywhere on endpoints, those endpoints are automatically assigned to your default policy and to the Default group. A group is a collection of endpoints, which helps you organize your devices for easy management. 

            

Once endpoints report into the Management Portal, after performing the first scan, you can move them to a different group. For example, you might organize endpoints by time zone so that you can schedule the same scan time for all of them.

            

Note: To fully manage groups, you must have access permissions for Groups: Create & Edit, Groups: Deactivate/Reactivate Endpoints, and Groups: Assign Endpoints to Groups. For more information, see Setting Console User Permissions.

            

To organize endpoints into groups:

            

  1. You can view all groups in the Group Management tab.  

  2. Select a group from the Groups panel on the left to see the endpoints and policies associated with that group on the right.

    Endpoints are displayed on the top; policies are displayed on the bottom.

            

 

            

Note: All endpoints are assigned to the Default group, unless you used the /groupname switch in the command line during a silent installation. For more information, see Deploying SecureAnywhere to Endpoints.

            

To create more groups and move endpoints, do any of the following:

            

  1. Add one or more new groups, as described in Adding New Groups.
  2. Move endpoints to the newly created groups, as described in Moving Endpoints Between Groups.
  3. Assign a policy to the new group of endpoints, as described in Applying Policies to Endpoint Groups.